Penarth Chamber Music Festival 2024- 10th Anniversary Gala Concert

Featuring the world première of Huw Watkins String Trio, PCMF’s 10th anniversary commission and including excerpts from Strauss’s final opera “Capriccio” bound together with newly commissioned additional narration by Sir David Pountney, read by actor Samuel West.

Ravel Introduction et Allegro

Lucy Wakeford – harp, Matthew Featherstone – flute, Robert Plane – clarinet, Malin Broman & Lesley Hatfield – violin, Scott Dickinson – viola, Marie Bitlloch – cello

Huw Watkins String Trio (world première)

David Adams – violin, Isobel Neary-Adams – viola, Alice Neary – cello

Strauss arr. D. Matthews Capriccio Sextet and Closing scene with dramatisation by Sir David Pountney

Carlo Rizzi – conductor, Rebecca Evans – soprano, Samuel West – narration

David Adams & Ágnes Langer – violin, Tom Dunn, Isobel Neary-Adams – viola, Alice Neary & Marie Bitlloch – cello, David Stark – double bass, Lucy Wakeford – harp, Matthew Featherstone – flute, Steven Hudson – oboe, Robert Plane – clarinet, Amy Harman – bassoon, Ben Goldscheider – horn, Simon Crawford-Phillips – harmonium

Tickets £25 or £30 double bill (with Late Night Concert at 9.30pm) and free for 8-25 year olds


Jun 29 2024


7:00 pm - 9:00 pm




Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama


Penarth Chamber Music Festival