WNO Orchestra: Crossing Borders

Smetana Bartered Bride Overture
Mozart Clarinet Concerto (Thomas Verity)
Schumann Symphony No.4

Tomáš Hanus conductor

An inspiring journey through the rich musical tapestry of Central Europe.

Take a seat and join WNO Orchestra and WNO Music Director Tomáš Hanus as they embark on an exhilarating journey through some of Central Europe’s finest masterpieces, opening with the triumphant Overture from Smetana’s The Bartered Bride. Celebrating the nationalistic pride he kindled in Czechia during the 19th century, this piece is fizzing with energy and rhythmic folk flavouring.

Travelling South to neighbouring Austria, enjoy the lyricism and witty dialogue of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto in A Major.

Bringing the expedition to a close, an immersive encounter with the world of high German Romanticism. Schumann’s Symphony No 4 is one continuous drama with brooding phrases and accumulating energy, infused with the famous ‘Clara Theme’, in honour of his wife.


Jul 11 2024


7:30 pm




Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama


Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama